Entourage 2008

Set Up POP - Entourage® 2008

For increased security, we recommend that you use our secure (SSL) servers, as detailed below.

To set up Entourage for POP, do the following:

  1. Select Entourage / Account Settings.
  2. Click the New button.
  3. Ensure that POP is selected in the Account type drop-down menu, and click the OK button.
  4. On the Edit Account screen, perform the following steps:
    • Account Name—Enter a descriptive name for the account.
    • Name—Enter your first and last name. This is the name that will appear in the From field of messages you send.
    • E-mail address—Enter your entire email address (e.g.,myname@mydomain.com).
    • Account ID—Enter your entire email address (e.g.,myname@mydomain.com).
    • POP server—Enter the secure server name: secure.emailsrvr.com
    • Password—Enter the password for your email account.


    • Click the Click here for advanced receiving options button, located below the POP server box. In the pop-up screen, do the following:
      1. Check the This POP service requires a secure connection (SSL) box.
      2. Ensure the POP port is: 995
      3. Leave the Always use secure password box unchecked.


      4. Click the Close button, located in the upper left corner.
    • SMTP Server—Enter the secure server name: secure.emailsrvr.com
    • Click the Click here for advanced sending options button, located below the SMTP server box. In the pop-up screen, do the following:
      1. Check the SMTP service requires secure connection (SSL) box.
      2. Check the Override default SMTP port box, and enter the secure outgoing port: 465
      3. Check the SMTP server requires authentication box.
      4. Click the Use same settings as receiving mail server radio button.


      5. Click the Close button, located in the upper left corner.
    • Click the OK button.
    • Click the Close button, located in the upper left corner.

    To leave a copy of messages on the server:

    A POP connection typically removes the email messages from the email server after you have downloaded new messages to your computer. 

    If you would like to leave copies on the server, do the following:

    1. Select Entourage / Account Settings.
    2. Double-click your mail account, as it appears in the list.
    3. Click the Options tab.
    4. Check the Leave a copy of messages on the server box.
    5. To avoid exceeding your account’s storage limits, check the Delete messages from the server after . . . days box, and make changes to the days value, as desired.
    6. You may also want to check the Delete messages from the server after they are deleted from this computer box. This will reduce the amount of storage you are using on your server.
    7. Click the OK button.
    8. Click the Close button, located in the upper left corner.